Yesterday & Today

Yesterday I made an appointment with the school counselor. I’ve been putting it off for a while now, but I finally did it. It wasn’t as big a thing as I expected it to be, but then again I expect a lot of things. I made it for Wednesday next week, late in the afternoon. There’s really nothing stopping me from going, but you know how life is: something or other can come up some time or other.. But I sincerely hope nothing does.

That same day, I gave a copy of some of my poems to one of my professor. I asked her to critique it, though to be honest it’s probably and largely because I wanted to show her that I am an emotional person too, given how she and my other prof think I’m such a sulky person who hates everything (only partly true). She’s one of my favourite professors, by the way, along with the other prof who confer about me and with me on the off chance that we bump into each other in the hallways. I consider them as something akin to family, though as professors I doubt they’re inclined to think the same about a generic student like me. Sometimes she shows that I’m not as generic as I feel, though. Even Sir does. But maybe that’s just wishful thinking.

It’s my best friend’s birthday today. I don’t know how old he is exactly, but if I were to guess, I’d say he’s just turned 19. We have the same birth month, but I don’t know about the year. I wrote him a birthday poem that I worked on for a few hours. It was shit, but I made it with all the concentration I could ever pool on anything, so I’m kind of glad with how it turned out. It’s great that he has another year of his life in his arsenal to wield in the battle of life. Hopefully it turns out to be a good year for him.

I went cold turkey on Facebook today. A few months back I had found a software that blocks out any and all websites that you specify for a certain period of time, and I decided to try it out for a month (which is the maximum), starting this morning. It doesn’t really feel like anything. It’s just a little peculiar, like somebody moved all my furniture an inch to the left or something. Or somebody took something in my room but I can’t tell what. Besides, it’s going to help me out a lot, not only with my studies but also with forgetting her. It might mean I’ll start posting more random things here, though.

Just now I started reading again. It’s been a while since I last read anything other than my academic readings, and I haven’t even finished the Stephen King anthology yet because I always ignore the urge. This time, though, I gave in, and looked online for a free .pdf version of Susanna Kaysen’s Girl, Interrupted. I’ve been wanting to read the book since the first time I saw the movie all those years ago. I have a lot of other e-books stored that I started on but couldn’t quite continue past a few pages, but with Girl, Interrupted I had to physically pull myself away from the computer just to get anything done. It’s a good sign. It might mean I’m falling in love with books again. It’s a little odd, though, that the one book I’ve been wanting to read for some time has something to do with mental disorders and suicide. I hope it doesn’t mean anything.

Okay, so it’s another life update, and sooner than planned. It’s not that there’s too much going on in my life; it’s more like there’s too little of anything happening that I might forget them if I didn’t set them down somewhere.

Leave a Reply

