On My Way Back

Truly, using big-screen technology (e.g. laptops) while in a moving vehicle is a migraine-inducing activity, which is why I avoid it as much as I can. However, the connection when in movement is spectacular, so I’m prepared to lose a couple hours of comfort to make sulit the speed I can go in the internet superhighway for the moment.

I am on a moving bus. Headed back to Baguio, as my earlier blurb (typed in less than half a minute, including thinking process) had suggested. The bus began moving a little after 2AM, so I expect to get there by 8AM, a good two hours before my first class for today. Unsurprisingly, I also expect to be dead at the end of the day. It’s a thing you learn to expect when you have to do it every single time you get the urge to go home. It kind of makes me averse to going home to be honest, but I can’t resist the pull of family. Naks

There is a nun sitting across the aisle from me. She is wearing the nun uniform (I’m sorry, I don’t know what it’s called). This being a Baguio trip, and the next stop being probably somewhere in Tarlac, it was safe to assume (also given that I know it for a fact) that it would get cold a little later on in the trip. For a few minutes, I could not stop thinking about this one stupid little thing: would nuns wear jackets over their uniforms? Is it allowed? I mulled it over for a good 10 minutes or so. Later, she brings out a knit sweater and hauls it over herself without wearing it. She answers my question without so much as speaking to me. I am amazed.

I can’t handle the movement of the bus; I can feel the edges of a brutal headache beginning to form. I’ll have to step off for the mo’ and try to get some bus-sleep. Bus-sleep, could you even call it that when you hardly get any sleep at all?

Leave a Reply

